Who’s the Real Anti?

When it comes to hunting, I’m definitely an “anti.” As I point out in my book, Exposing the Big Game: “Not only am I anti-hunting, I’m avidly anti-trapping, anti-seal clubbing and anti-whaling. For that matter, I’m anti any form of bullying that goes on against the innocents—including humans. I am not an apologist for the wanton inhumanity of hunting in the name of sport, pseudo-subsistence or conservation-by-killing.”

Most of all, I’m pro-wildlife, pro-nature and pro-animal.

If you’re following this blog, you probably feel the same. According to hunters, you’re one of the “antis.” Hunters like to stereotype us all with a negative brush stroke, yet they are the real “antis.”

Hunters are anti-wildlife, anti-wilderness, anti-nature and when it comes down to it, anti-animal. Most of all, they’re anti-competition, i.e., they’re anti-cougar, anti-coyote and unquestionably anti-wolf. Just ask the Idaho Anti-Wolf Coalition, who tried to get an initiative on the ballot in 2008 calling for the removal of “all” of the wolves in their state, “by whatever means necessary.”

Now, you might be thinking, “Surely hunters aren’t always negative; they must be pro-something?” Well, you’d be right—they’re pro-killing, pro-death, and when it comes right down to it, pro-animal cruelty.

Let’s face it, you can’t kill an animal without being cruel; and therein lies the real reason I’m anti-hunting.

Text and Wildlife Photography ©Jim Robertson, 2012. All Rights Reserved

Text and Wildlife Photography ©Jim Robertson, 2012. All Rights Reserved

5 thoughts on “Who’s the Real Anti?

  1. I actually like how “hunters” stereotype people like me, it’s means I am a constant torn in their ass for all time. I like getting in their face about how I feel, and I apologize to no one for my disdain for them. Valuing life is not some weakness that people like me suffer from, and disregarding it, is NOT strength.

  2. This sicko wolf killer page has been trolling, stalking, and harassing me and other wolf activists! Is there a way we can forward all that they say and do to politicians and the media so they can see the good ol’ high pollutin’, rootin’ tootin’, gun totin’, hard workin’, real Americans they put on a pedestal over the rest of us and demand the wolves be made a protected species again and the killing be stopped? This is the page that is harassing me and other wolf lovers! These people need to be brought down!

    https://www.facebook.com/WolfHuntingTrappingAndSnaring

  3. They need some stirring up, but I’ve found it’s a total waste of time. We can spend our time in better ways. We certainly aren’t going to convert any of them; they can’t seem to take the evolutionary leap that would bring them up to acceptable standards. Just consider them “backwards”, to be charitable about it!
    Justin, I believe you can report them to facebook but not sure of the process. I’d suggest you don’t patronize their sites and don’t communicate with them….it’s the attention they crave but at the expense of the wolves. I can’t see any merit to providing these losers with an audience.

  4. Forgot to mention….there are times when I check out their fb pages or websites for any articles or statements regarding legislation that they either want or don’t want. It’s one way to get a jump start on writing to legislators and I often find out about things before other pro-animal sources.

Leave a Reply

