Witness Opens Up About Deadly Hunting Accident Near Colfax

Oct 13, 2015 6:29 PM PDT <em class=”wnDate”>Tuesday, October 13, 2015 9:29 PM EDT</em>Updated: Oct 13, 2015 7:17 PM PDT

<em class=”wnDate”>Tuesday, October 13, 2015 10:17 PM EDT</em>http://www.nbcrightnow.com/story/30254462/witness-opens-up-about-deadly-hunting-accident

The man told us about his desperate attempt to save the other man’s life while they were miles away from help.

Jesus Valencia was recalled how he tried to perform CPR on his friend, 31-year-old Nicolas Nava Farias, as he lay dying outside Colfax. Valencia described to us the agonizing wait for help with Farias, and why he will never go hunting ever again.

Jesus Valencia knew Nicolas Nava Farias, or Nico, well.

“Just 15 days ago we were out celebrating his birthday,” Valencia said.

Jesus met Nico 7-years-ago when he started dating his cousin Llesenia. 5-years-ago, they married.

“I mean just one of the greatest guys you could meet out there honestly,” Valencia said.

Early Saturday morning, Jesus and his uncle asked Nico to join them last minute to do something he loved, go hunting. They traveled 2 hours to a spot they have been going to for years about five miles outside Colfax.

But this time, wasn’t like the rest. As the team of four surrounded a buck using radios to communicate, a single shot rang out.

“My uncle took the shot, he missed the deer,” Valencia said. “The next thing I hear… I hear Nico yell, asking for help. Saying he’s dying. He yelled that twice. He says, “help me, I’m dying, I’m dying.”

The bullet traveled through Nico’s right arm and into his chest. Jesus rushed to his side. Finally, his third call to 9-1-1 went through. Over the phone the dispatcher told Jesus to do C-P-R to try to save Nico’s life.

“As soon as I pressed on his chest I seen blood coming out on the sides. and I told the dispatch what was going on,” Valencia said. “She’s like, ‘yes that’s going to happen just keep on doing it until help gets there.'”

That help took 45 minutes to find their remote location. By then, it was too late. The hardest thing to think about for Jesus, is Nico’s two boys who are only 3 and 6 years old.

“I wouldn’t want my son growing up without a dad,” Valencia told us. “I just couldn’t imagine that. I just can’t. I mean the kids might not understand right now but then later on their going to need their dad. They’re going to need him.”

Jesus wants every hunter to use Nico’s story as a lesson.

“Be safe out there,” Valencia said. “I never thought it would happen to my family, and it did.”

Because Jesus will never hunt again.

“I can still hear him screaming,” Valencia said. “At night it’s hard to sleep. I mean it’s really hard.”

Valencia says his uncle is taking it even harder, being the one that fired that fatal shot.

The Department of Fish and Wildlife is still investigating the shooting.

One thought on “Witness Opens Up About Deadly Hunting Accident Near Colfax

Leave a Reply

