Do the Animals a Favor: Don’t Breed

Exposing the Big Game

Growing up in the 1960s (back when the human population was less than half of what it is today), we were allowed to talk freely about the problem of overpopulation without being labeled a misanthropist, or worse. Even Mary Tyler Moore covered the issue in an episode of her classic comedy show (before she was written off as a liberal animal lover).

But something happened over the years to effectively quell the voice of concern for the planet. I don’t know quite when it started, but I do remember when the prime minister of Japan (already an utterly overpopulated country at the time) urged his people to produce more offspring because they weren’t turning out enough ‘human resources’ to satisfy their industrialists’ and economists’ visions of unrestrained growth. What do our world leaders think we are, chattel? (Never mind, don’t answer that.)

Thankfully, some people are starting to talk about…

View original post 443 more words

7 thoughts on “Do the Animals a Favor: Don’t Breed

  1. No matter how strongly the christians believe it, anti abortion is based on religiosity, that a human has a soul at conception, or any other time for that matter, that humans are special, created in God’s image, that there is even a God. I would argue the opposite. It is more likely that man created God in man’s image. In any case , if there is a God in man’s image, he does not deserve our respect or worship. Humans are just another animal, no more special than any other. Humans are the most destructive by far of earth species, of themselves, other animal life, the planet. We don’t need any more humans to drain resources, pollute the environment, crowd out wildlife habitat, wildlife, eat other animals by the millions and billions, make war on other humans (delayed abortions I guess). The earth would be better off without humans. We are not special, except in our own estimate, and feelings for ourselves and our loved ones (not unique to human animals). Christianity is a superstition and a primitive one for primitives. People have a right of freedom from religion, from superstition, from having such imposed on them. Women have the right to reproductive freedom. Biodiversity, the health of the planet is at stake. The Trumpalypse started today. On this day (January 23, 2017) Trump-GOP regime declared war on women’s reproductive rights and climate and EPA, in indirectly wildlife, which no doubt will soon be under direct assault.

    • “man created God in man’s image”, I had never heard someone say it like that before, but how true. I agree totally that we really need to stop the human population explosion.

  2. You are so right, and thank you for bringing this up. I think speaking of overpopulation first became unpopular and now a taboo, not just because of short term economic benefits (short term because in a long run it is unsustainable) but also because it has become politically incorrect. If you talk about acting responsibly and having family planning, you will be considered a racist a bigot a fascist a Nazi and all kinds of horrible things. Because you will no doubt be offending some primitive culture that considers having a big family a sign of status or some religious order that considers having big families an act of divine duty, or just pointing out the stupidity and irresponsibility of those who sleep around.

    As we all know we are so far gone in being politically correct and not offending anyone that we are prepared to destroy the planet for it.

  3. Population & Climate Change & Sustainability: The Anthropocene Extinction

    Is climate change the new hysteria as maybe was The Population Bomb, such has been suggested or implied by a New York Times article? Maybe, but it seems the world population explosion (7 billion now, projected 10-11 billion by 2100) has had devastating effects on animals with increased ranching and sport killing (aka hunting), poaching. It has had devastating effects on climate with the increased greenhouse gases. Due to the population explosion there is increased demand for resources, increased demand for fossil fuels, increased demand for animal farming (aka ranching), shrinking wildlife habitat and pressure on wildlife habitat by ranching and extraction industries and development, disruption of balanced wildlife ecology by hunting and ranching and extraction industries and development. So, predictions of disasters due to populations explosion (The Population Bomb, Paul Ehrlich 1968) may be valid with the time scale skewed more to the present, delayed due to science aided increased food production exceeding or keeping pace with population, but not averted. We are killing off the world’s wildlife, exploiting the wilderness to a shrinking scale, polluting water, air and land. How sustainable is it? At what costs to wilderness and wildlife and the planet? Are there alternatives to the ways we humans sustain ourselves? Maybe there are even healthier alternatives for ourselves, the animal kingdom, the planet? Maybe there alternatives to wildlife management to hunting and trapping? We need to start other animals as sentient with rights, hunting and rapping as barbaric traditions. We need to see ranching as unsustainable Amy’s well as barbaric. We need to slow down on our own reproduction. We all could have more meatless days in our week and month and year. Encourage the food industries to develop palatable and even delicious meat alternatives.

    References:
    https://exposingthebiggame.wordpress.com/2017/01/23/do-the-animals-a-favor-dont-breed-2/

    https://exposingthebiggame.wordpress.com/?p=12484

    https://exposingthebiggame.wordpress.com/2015/06/17/did-wrong-man-win-the-population-bomb-wager/

    https://exposingthebiggame.wordpress.com/2015/06/15/paul-ehrlichs-overpopulation-message-even-more-relevant-today-2/

    Is Climate Change Hysteria the New ‘Population Bomb’? Breitbart News‎ – recent article in the New York Times revisits the generalized pa

    U.S. and World Population Clock – Census.gov
    http://www.census.gov/popclock/ United States Census Bureau

    Total Population of the World by Decade, 1950–2050
    http://www.infoplease.com › World › World Statistics › Population Statistics

    https://exposingthebiggame.wordpress.com/2015/06/13/is-climate-change-hysteria-the-new-population-bomb/

    The Population Bomb – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Population_Bomb Wikipedia The Population Bomb is a best-selling book written by Stanford University Professor Paul R. Ehrlich and his wife, Anne Ehrlich(who was uncredited), in 1968.

    World population – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_population

    World population to hit 11bn in 2100 – with 70% chance of …
    http://www.theguardian.com › … › Sustainable development The Guardian
    Sep 18, 2014 – The world’s population is now odds-on to swell ever-higher for the rest of the century, posing grave challenges for food supplies, health care

  4. I was never sure I wanted children. I have known women who truly madly deeply wanted children and fell into a depression when or if they couldn’t get pregnant. I never felt that way, and of course I did grow up in the era when overpopulation was talked about – and here we are today, at a tipping point. Now neither political party wants to talk about it – even making it a human rights violation to talk about it.

    The other day I read an article recently about women who regret parenthood. It really isn’t for everyone, I don’t think. I chose this one because I liked that it was in a publication called “Jezebel”. Ha! 🙂

    http://jezebel.com/we-need-to-talk-about-women-who-regret-motherhood-1635470629

    • We are so ‘brainwashed’ into having families that many people I believe buy into ‘The Big Lie’ (or at least The Big Exaggeration) and then are stuck in a cycle of having to support children and all the consumerism that goes along with it.

      It is a vicious cycle I am glad I never bought in to. It’s no wonder when the reality of what it all entails comes that people are overwhelmed. Not every man or woman who has a child is a good parent either. I know of a man who raised his handicapped son all by himself because the woman he created the child with could not accept having a handicapped child and left them. Kudos to him.

      It’s not that I don’t like children, I do (other people’s), and I am very maternal. I just direct those maternal feelings to other desperately needed areas.

  5. Hello all!
    I have an alternative opinion to most commenters here.

    Yes, I do agree that much less people should be having kids. I strongly believe it should be a crime to have a child when you are too poor to feed/clothe/house the child, when you are on welfare or even if you don’t have the resources to devote almost all of your energy toward your little one in the first years of life. I don’t understand how the subject is never brought up when we are watching starving children on the news in other countries. Why does no one ask “why are these people having kids?!”

    But I don’t believe all vegans should go childless. While the idea of genes being important is another politically incorrect subject, I have read widely about the co-evolution of dogs and humans. Scientists speak about a “compassion gene” they believe gave certain humans who had it the ability to empathize with other species (dogs) and therefore gave them an evolutionary advantage because making a dog part of your family gave you advantages such as a body guard more devoted than any Secret Service agent. These people passed this gene down to their children and hence the domestication of our closest soul brothers and sisters.

    And I see this in my own family. I can go back to my great great grandmother and hear stories about what an animal lover she was. My grandmother now has many rescue animals and feeds any hungry animal – cat, raccoon, possum – that shows up at her back door. I grew up with my single mom stopping traffic at busy intersections with me and my sisters in the car as she chased injured pigeons down. If we ever had to pass a pool on our way anywhere, we were always late, as we’d spend all the time it took to rescue every tiny little bug out of the water.

    We were poor – 4 of us living in a 2-bedroom apartment – but we were still outnumbered by the stray dogs and cats my mom would bring home, never saying no to anything that needed help.

    But as a teenager and a young adult, I strayed. I rebelled. I partied and drank and forgot about the world (though I stayed vegetarian). I credit having my first daughter with bringing me back to compassion, love and re-opening my eyes to the beauty (and by default the pain) being experienced by the most innocent, the most helpless creatures on the planet. While there is a lot of work with a first-born child, there is a lot of peace. I sat for long periods as she ate and slept. I read. I read the China Study, Skinny Bitch. I researched and I became vegan. My husband became vegan, my sister followed, then my aunt and my mom and some cousins.

    I now have three kids (my 2nd pregnancy resulted in unintended twins) who are conscious vegans. They ask people at birthday parties if the cake is vegan and make their own choice not to eat it. My almost 6-year-old son recently caught a tiny sparrow we had noticed not able to fly in a dark parking lot not long ago. My 3 kids and I worked together to catch her, and my son scooped her up. He said with a beautiful smile “she’s so soft.” If you count bugs, we’ve rescued hundreds of animals – bugs, birds, dogs, cats, raccoons, possums.

    I don’t just feed them plants, we watch videos, rescue videos (our favorite is Animal Aid) and also the bad stuff. They have seen what happens to baby cows in order for humans to get their milk. They have seen undercover videos of rodeos and various other ways humans exploit animals. They go to protests and vegan gatherings with me. We do our best in our own vegetable garden. And we live this lifestyle every day. We have 3 rescue dogs, 3 indoor rescue cats and numerous outside animals we feed, spay, neuter, whatever we can do. We enjoy all life.

    And, most importantly I think for making this vegan thing stick, is we homeschool. There are no teachers diluting the vegan message of compassion for ALL, hammering away at their independent thought or critical thinking skills, making them into virtual zombies so the advertisers can take over after they leave school.

    There’s also the issue of numbers. The bad guys are breeding like rabbits (not to insult rabbits). While I don’t think we should follow their example, those vegans who can provide a well-rounded message (rescue, education, example) should not be looked upon as if they are doing less for the world. Of course there’s a chance one of my kids could not be vegan as an adult, but considering the education they are getting from me and from the animals, I think it is as unlikely as them growing up to be a cannibal.

    And just as an aside, Jane Goodall is not vegan, and I watched her disparage vegans on the John Stewart Show for being upset she ate cake with butter in it. “It’s a cake,” she said to applause. I am NOT here to criticize Jane Goodall. She has done more for animals than anyone I know. But I suspect her son may have become a commercial fisherman because he was not raised vegan, and perhaps with being as busy as she was she did not have the right amount of influence on him. This is obviously just a guess.

    My aunt and uncle did adopt many years ago, a newborn baby, which turned out to ruin their lives. This baby grew up so messed up, he killed their family pet and was basically a mess. This was likely genes and I suppose his mother while pregnant did not take care of herself. So adopting is a HUGE gamble, very unlike adopting a non-human animal.

    Thank you all for caring for our animal brothers and sisters! I love this blog and the book was amazing… I’ve read almost all of it to my kids and we have discussions about it.
    Tina

Leave a Reply

