Man charged with selling bear paws, gall bladders in Cache Creek area

November 15, 2016 – 8:00 PM

KAMLOOPS – Nine charges have been laid against a man who is accused of trafficking parts of a dead bear in B.C.’s Interior and Cariboo regions.

Hong Hui Xie, who’s in his 40s, faces charges including trafficking in bear gall bladders, trafficking in bear paws and unlawful possession of dead wildlife.

“Nine counts have… been laid against a 100 Mile House resident for alleged offences that occurred in 100 Mile House and Cache Creek between October 2015 and September 2016,” the B.C. Conservation Officer Service says on its Facebook page.

Court documents show from Oct. 27, 2015 to Jan. 21, 2016, Xie allegedly trafficked in a bear gall bladder, trafficked in bear paws separate from the carcass and trafficked in deer meat while in the 100 Mile House area.

On Sept. 7, 2016, Xie allegedly trafficked in bear paws and gall bladders while in the Cache Creek area.

Xie is not being held in custody and his first court appearance is expected to be in Kamloops Provincial Court later this month.


 

http://infotel.ca/newsitem/man-charged-with-selling-bear-paws-gall-bladders-in-cache-creek-area/it36788#.WOJfPMUSHbE.facebook

40 thoughts on “Man charged with selling bear paws, gall bladders in Cache Creek area

  1. It will be interesting to follow this story. We’re getting into difficult territory here involving a clash in cultures and traditions. It can degenerate into a binary battle between those who view all animal abuse as evil, no matter what the source, and those who consider condemning the animal abuse of other ethnic abuse as racist. In an increasingly global community of diverse groups, this issue will be a problem.

    Personally, I am against all animal abuse. But race and tradition are two different things. While racial discrimination is wrong, I believe we have the right to criticize and try to stop abusive traditions, including our own newest outrages of hunting sleeping bears or shooting them from planes.

    • Yes, Ahimsa, you are in difficult territory when you insist on bringing up race and tradition when commenting on an article that make no mention of either. The article identifies Xie as a trafficker in various wildlife parts, not limited to those of interest to Chinese speakers. Why are you trying to suggest a defense for these cruel, illegal actions?

      • I am not trying to justify what he did. I think trafficking in animal parts is abhorrent. I was also responding to the comments section of article which did go into a discussion of origins.

      • It seems what I was saying was misinterpreted. Let me try again.

        I think what this man did was illegal and abhorrent.

        I did not insist on bringing up race. It was brought up in the comments section of the article and tends to come up when various cultural traditions may be involved, as in the case of these bear parts.

        I said the topic was “difficult territory” because there are those who believe people should be allowed to follow their traditional customs even if those customs involve great cruelty. They see not allowing them to follow their traditions as racist.

        I believe the following:

        I believe we have the right to condemn cruelty, no matter what the source.

        Merely condemning cruelty and demanding punishment is not racism. We have to define cruelty by the act/crime itself, not condemn it or excuse it by who is commiting it.

        I hope this helps.

    • Yes, I agree. And it is politically incorrect to talk about. That all but ensures nothing will change (which is why willful naivete is infuriating). There’s this with bears, poaching fish in the West, and going right in to private property to steal and butcher horses, right on the spot. I cannot defend this kind of behavior, it is criminal. We are too naïve and make it too easy. If people are going to live here, they need to respect our laws.

      HRC even said the other day “People First”. So there really is no political party that gives a whit about wildlife and animals, except in a few politically advantageous areas.

  2. I have no respect for using culture and traditions based on superstition and faulty information as an excuse to slaughter wildlife and yes, I am “racist” on this issue. Maybe Hong wouldn’t mind becoming an involuntary organ donor…quite a lucrative business that.

  3. There is NO EXCUSE, absolutely none, for anyone who truly cares about animals on this blog to somehow justify “tradition and culture” when abusing, killing animals. Culture/Tradition is nothing more than Humanism–which we must constantly fight against.
    Personally I do not see any “difficult territory” here. This same stupid argument has also been used with the so-called “subsistence” Bow head Whaling. It is nothing more than the rationalization by destructive humans to continue their destructive behaviors.
    Renee, you said it all–thanks so much.

    http://www.foranimals.org

    • The “difficult territory” I referred to was not any indecision about whether what this man did was wrong but that when calling out culture-specific cruelty, it may be considered racist, as you know. Caving in to that pernicious aspect of political correctness is something, as an animal activist, I refuse to do.

  4. Animals in the wild need as much protection as human beings, and there is no justification for anyone to even think of having rights to take their lives for pleasure or profit. Send him to Uganda to be judged. They are imposing the death penalty there for wilful killing of wild animals.

      • Terrible. We need to put a stop to this behavior and ignoring it, covering it up, and making excuses for it.

      • Yes, Ida, you could have picked a better source than Vdare.com. How long have you been following this white nationalist website, named after Virginia Dare, the first white Protestant born in what is now the USA?
        This puts the proper context to all your comments about “political correctness,” as your fellow members of alt-right call it.

    • Yes, I’m aware of Couto and his group, Animal Recovery Mission, and have been supporting them. They also started a sanctuary for the animals they managed to rescue.

      I have been complaining of this kind of thing, including charro rodeo (horse tripping) and have been repeatedly accused of racism. We have enough terrible cruelty originating right here in America that we’re fighting. I don’t think that being welcoming and inclusive means we have to add more problems for the animals.

      So I’m going to condemn cruelty no matter who is commiting it. It that makes me a xenophobe, racist, or bigot to some, so be it. Since I also condemn the good old boys and their hunting here, fox hunting in England, and bullfighting in Spain, Mexico, and South America, they may as well label me as a misanthrope, too, since I’m not leaving anyone out.

  5. I definitely am a misanthrope. I see cruelty, greed and selfishness as part of the entire human condition, regardless of race, ethnicity or religious beliefs. I found that site by accident, obviously, by looking up the matter of illegal horse-meat butchery and sales in the US – but, does it matter if everyone condemns horse stealing, butchery, illegal animal fighting and law breaking? Let’s not lose sight of that. But feel free to use your only weapon – the race card.

    • I’m thinking Marc is a troll who seems to enjoy playing the race card. When it comes to animal abuse, I guess we have to stick with the good old boys with the gun rack in their pickups and the dead deer and wolves under the tarp in the back.

      Actually, this is worrisome. What will happen if a lot of abuses have to be ignored or covered up because of PC stigmatization? There is no culture or group who is guilt-free.

      • Marcia, you have been exposed, so now you are showing your true colors. I have seen your racist writings (“articles”) on the Armory for the Revolution, in which you clearly denigrated Muslims, and Mexicans–it was public on that blog and you know it. You constantly excused and rationalized what Trump and his ilk were up to, and apparently you’re still doing it. Interesting how you now remain silent, when a Trump article is presented on this site, indicating just how terrible this Trump Dynasty is. You have a way of twisting yourself out of things that you know full well you wrote, when you were so active on the Armory site–which is a disgracefully biased, racist site, as many of us have discovered.

        The White Nationalist Website Marc mentioned, is not something most people know about–that is how these White Nationalists operate–and apparently you are well aware of it.

        As far as Ida is concerned: Often you seem so very confused, and then you are caught, you make some kind of vapid apology: “I didn’t realize…..I could have picked a better article…”
        Apparently you knew enough about this White Supremacist site to visit it and to go to the trouble to link it?
        I give you credit, though, for at least admitting what & who you are—and a Queen to boot. Perhaps you are too easily influenced by Marcia’s leanings?

  6. Unfortunately this whole thing is degenerating. After reading comments by Marc and Rosemary, i feel I should ask/say something.

    1. When did I say good things about Trump? Please point those out to me. I have condemned his and his sons’ behavior multiple times on this blog.

    2. I invite anyone to read my posts on charro and halal and show where I complained about Moslems and Mexicans as groups and how the posts were racist. I complained about the animal cruelty involved in ritual slaughterhouses and with horse tripping, both of which have been documented. Approximately 12 states have made charro illegal because the horses are so often killed or badly injured. One source stated that the unfortunate horses are seldom privately owned but bought from killer lots because of their likely fate. What real animal advocate would not object to such an event?

    3. I know nothing about what “white web site” is being discussed. The only site I referred to in my article is the newspaper that carried the bear story.

    4. I have problems with the lack of logic. On the one hand I’m a racist for mentioning “culture” and then blamed for somehow justifying what the accused did (which I did not).

    5. Accusations of racism thrown around so baselessly by those who did not seem to understand what they read is serious and is ruining this blog.

  7. By the way, Rosrmary, I looked through some old blogs. You accused me of racism for an article on Islam that I DID NOT write. Before you make such charges, you need to know what you’re talking about.

    That’s the last I have to say because it does no good. You have made up your mind regardless of the evidence and are apparently deciding who and what should be on this site.

  8. No honestly – I had never heard of that site before. I was actually trying to find the ARM site, with Mr. Couto’s work. That’s why I posted it, for the content – not the site name. I checked later on and was dismayed to find what it was, so I mentioned that to any readers. But my reason for posting was the content of the articles. I made a mistake, that’s all. I probably should have asked the moderator to delete it. Have we reached the point where we can’t even give the benefit of the doubt to someone, or just attack someone to vent? I’m truly shocked. When we start attacking each other, something is wrong. I thought that I wouldn’t have to explain to people who read animal protection blogs regularly and see my posts.

    • Most people who Google for information do not think about all the political ramifications of sites they look at. I’m spending time explaining and re-explaining what I meant and even noting that I did NOT write a whole article I was blamed for. I think when it gets to that point it goes beyond simple misunderstanding and into an issue of looking for problems. It’s kind of like being politicians who have to be so careful of not offending someone that they never say anything new or spontaneous.

      I think it’s sad that with all the animal suffering there is to fight we harm the blog and waste our time with these attacks that accomplish nothing and go nowhere. Sounds like H. sapiens at work.

  9. The alt-right and other Trump supporters use the term “political correctness” to condemn anyone who works for social change. When you echo that term, it is understandable that people will assume that you share the alt-right agenda. Quoting from a white nationalist website, even if you follow it with a meek apology that you later realized it is not “mainstream,” does not clarify your views.
    I would suggest that if you don’t understand the meaning of the term “political correctness” you should refrain from using it.

  10. Okay. Maybe I’ll have a chance to find out what some of the comments are about.

    First are you directing this to Marcia? If so, I don’t understand the reference to the white nationalist website. I did not offer any apology about a website, nor did I give one or refer to one. The criticism is often done in a hit and miss fashion, and I don’t know what is meant? So I would appreciate it if you could clarify this.

    Part of the problem is that we all have our special interests and a limited amount of time. So I don’t keep up with what Trump followers mean specifically by political correctness. They are not the only ones who can claim or use that term, so I don’t think it is offensive to not know all the nuances. Personally I don’t like it when some use political correctness to bully people and shut down honest discourse. Similarly with the website. I’m a member of the Southern Poverty Law Center, and they send information on the rise and location of hate groups, but I can’t remember all of them. When I look up information on the Internet, I check what is said and if it seems honest and objective. Other than that I don’t go into the background unless I want it for a reference in something I’m writing. But I still don’t know what website I apologized for????

    • It’s not always clear when the comments get to this level who is responding to whom. I was referring to Ida’s flippant dismissal of the vdare site, which you can look up on SPLC. But you both use the term political correctness which is a term that racists use to excuse their racism. You may mean something else, but I would still suggest avoiding the term if you are unaware of its history and common usage.

      • Heck, I’ve probably even used it, not knowing all its newfangled implications. We’re called racists if we talk about overpopulaion, but I’m an equal opportunity misanthrope.

  11. Rosemary,
    I decided that I would add more. I find it so presumptuous that you take over someone else’s post to accuse other commenters of racism, among other things, that I decided to follow up. You seem to feel free to say anything without any evidence to back it up. That is concerning, considering the accusations.

    Above you said the following: ” Interesting how you now remain silent, when a Trump article is presented on this site, indicating just how terrible this Trump Dynasty is.”

    I remain silent when a Trump article is present on this site? Here are the Trump articles, in which I complained of Trump, JUST THIS WEEK:

    Animal Rights in the Trump Era
    How Trump’s Budget Undercuts Security Risks Posed By Pandemics
    Trump Revokes Alaska Refuge Rule, Allow Wolves to be Killed
    Trump Repeals Alaskan Bear Hunter Traps
    Trump Just Lifted a Ban On Shooting Bears and Wolves From Airplanes in Alaska
    Trump Wants To Make Avian Flu Great Again.

    It’s interesting that you say I never criticize Trump (as if that alone were some test of moral purity), yet you commented on only ONE of the above posts (the one involving wolf killing), and your name was under mine, so I assume you do know I was commenting even though you deny it.

    You said the following: “The White Nationalist Website Marc mentioned, is not something most people know about–that is how these White Nationalists operate–and apparently you are well aware of it.”

    I am not even aware of what web site you are talking about, much less who is operating it. Where in any of my comments did I offer a web site?

    On July 24, 2016, you said the following: “Here you go again, Marcia, formerly “ahimsa.” You either are truly a racist, or you are very confused–or perhaps you are both.”

    This in the comments for an article I did not even write!

    You have little credibility, Rosemary, and you’re getting tiresome. Please give it up.

  12. Rosemary,

    I decided that I would add more. I find it so presumptuous that you use another’s post to accuse some commenters of racism, among other things, that I decided to follow up. You seem to feel free to say anything without any evidence to back it up. That is concerning, considering the nature of the accusations.

    Above you said the following of me: “You constantly excused and rationalized what Trump and his ilk were up to, and apparently you’re still doing it.”

    When did I constantly do that and what did I do?

    You also wrote here: “Interesting how you now remain silent, when a Trump article is presented on this site, indicating just how terrible this Trump Dynasty is.”

    I remain silent when a Trump article is present on this site? Here are the Trump articles, in which I complained of Trump–JUST THIS WEEK:

    Animal Rights in the Trump Era
    How Trump’s Budget Undercuts Security Risks Posed By Pandemics
    Trump Revokes Alaska Refuge Rule, Allow Wolves to be Killed
    Trump Repeals Alaskan Bear Hunter Traps
    Trump Just Lifted A Ban On Shooting Bears And Wolves From Airplanes In Alaska
    Trump Wants To Make Avian Flu Great Again.

    You say I never criticize Trump (as if that alone were some test of moral purity), yet you commented on only ONE of the above posts (the one involving wolf killing), and your name was under mine, so I assume you know I was commenting even though you deny it.

    You said the following: “The White Nationalist Website Marc mentioned, is not something most people know about–that is how these White Nationalists operate–and apparently you are well aware of it.”

    I am not even aware of what web site you are talking about, much less who is operating it. Where in any of these comments did I give a such web site or link?

    On July 24, 2016, you said the following: “Here you go again, Marcia, formerly “ahimsa.” You either are truly a racist, or you are very confused–or perhaps you are both.”

    This in the comments for an article I did not even write!

    Rosemary, this is going nowhere. Please give it up. It’s also unfair to the other bloggers.

    • Since you have to continue this Marcia, I will respond once more: You can play the game of pretending you did or did not say something, but I and others, saw and read your “articles” on Armory for the Revolution, denigrating Mexicans and Muslims, and your defensive posture regarding Trump. You can protest as much as you wish, but you know what you did. You can them “alternative facts” perhaps? I do not intend to converse with you further, Marcia Mueller–the name ahimsa is better suited to others.

  13. In an attempt to bring this discussion back to the issue that all on this blog are concerned about, here’s an example from the (establishment) right-wing press branding as “political correctness” the public outcry which led to airline restriction on hunting trophy imports following the murder of Cecil:

    Politically Correct Airlines Caved In To The Knee-Jerk Outrage Over The Killing of Cecil The Lion

    “So that leaves political correctness as the only plausible reason for the Big Three airlines’ ban on carrying African big game trophies. And that’s a very dangerous, infested swamp into which corporations should rarely, if ever wade.

    What are they going to do when the next load roar comes from some offended, outraged group? What if PETA demands that they stop accepting luggage made of leather? What if anti-war activists demand they stop carrying military people in uniform? What if environmentalists demand that each passenger be given an envelope in flight and required to contribute money to offset their share of the carbon imprint left by the plane in which they’re flying?”

Leave a Reply

