https://assets.scrippsdigital.com/cms/videoIframe.html?&host=www.fox13now.com&title=Thousands%20won%27t%20get%20hunting%2C%20fishing%20licenses%20because%20of%20unpaid%20child%20support&kw=&autoplay=true&m3u8=https://content.uplynk.com/0f70b18fa800467f817edbd5a453756f.m3u8&mp4=https://x-default-stgec.uplynk.com/ausw/slices/0f7/ef205c0e5ea14d77944cbd6904335118/0f70b18fa800467f817edbd5a453756f/0f70b18fa800467f817edbd5a453756f_e.mp4&purl=/news/local-news/thousands-of-utahns-wont-get-hunting-fishing-licenses-because-of-unpaid-child-support&dtrack=1&story=1&contplay=*recent&mute=1&tags=Local%20News%2CPolitics%2CHomepage%20Showcase&cust_params=temp%3D60-69%26weather%3Dcloudy&s=kstuBy:Ben WinslowPosted at4:04 PM, Apr 23, 2021and last updated4:44 PM, Apr 23, 2021
SALT LAKE CITY — The letter is hitting mailboxes across Utah.
“This notice is to inform you that according to records maintained by the Office of Recovery Services (ORS), you currently have child support arrears over $2,500.00,” it reads, then warns that under a new Utah law “you may not apply for, obtain, or attempt to obtain a license, permit, or tag for hunting or fishing…”
A law passed by the Utah State Legislature last year is going into effect on July 1 andthousands of people who are delinquent on child support could be denied a hunting or fishing licensebecause they owe more than $2,500 in unpaid child support.
“These children need their child support,” said Rep. Karianne Lisonbee, R-Clearfield, who sponsored the law.
The state is trying to notify people before…
View original post 405 more words